We Did It! Council Unanimously Approves Grounds Improvements

12 Apr 2013 by admin, Comments Off on We Did It! Council Unanimously Approves Grounds Improvements

Thank you!  Thank you! Thank you to everyone who called, emailed, and attended meetings over the years, and especially in the last few months during the final push for approval.

Last night, after a long day of waiting, the City Council opened the public hearing on the SOS Ordinance amendments that would allow the Grounds Improvements projects to go forward.  Around 11:30 pm, after hearing from a variety of stakeholders, including FBSP board and members, the City Council voted unanimously to approve the amendment!

Through many rounds of revisions to the plans, all stakeholders were able to come to an agreement to approve the plans going forward.  This included a meeting just earlier this week, called by Councilmember Laura Morrison, at which representatives from a variety of groups met at the pool, and were able to agree on a new, better location for the ADA access overlook so that disabled patrons can enjoy the views of the South Lawn.

We could not be more excited to see these worthy projects finally on the path to completion. If all goes well, construction will begin in October 2013.

If you would like to email the City Council members to thank them for their vote, their emails are below.

Click here to email all Council members.

Lee Leffingwell (Mayor): lee.leffingwell@austintexas.gov

Sheryl Cole (Mayor Pro Tem): sheryl.cole@austintexas.gov

CM Mike Martinez: mike.martinez@austintexas.gov

CM Chris Riley: chris.riley@austintexas.gov

CM Bill Spelman: william.spelman@austintexas.gov

CM Laura Morrison: laura.morrison@austintexas.gov

CM Kathie Tovo: kathie.tovo@austintexas.gov

Comments are closed.

Follow Me!

Follow Me! Follow Me! Follow Me! Follow Me!